Old tyres, compost bins and a large dose of shed envy.

Posted: November 3, 2013 in The Garage
Tags: , , , , ,

Well I’ve officially owned an allotment for a week now! And I’d love to say that I’ve been able to go there every day and get a little bit done but the truth is that the weather’s been vile and I’ve been snowed under with making Christmas decorations – So progress has been slow to say the least.

However, I have managed to grab a few moments on the plot over the last few days and started off the general clearing up of the site by making piles of assorted stuff – House bricks, rubble, stones and bits of old greenhouse glass.

Piles of bricks, rubble and stones - OK, so it doesn't look that much different but I feel better for making a start ;)

Piles of bricks, rubble and stones – OK, so it doesn’t look that much different but I feel better for making a start ๐Ÿ˜‰

All the tyres have been moved to the other end of the plot – Originally I thought there were ten but it turns out I’ve got thirteen of them to incorporate into my planting scheme!

Good grief! I really don't know what I'm going to do  with quite so many tyres!!!!!!!

Good grief! I really don’t know what I’m going to do with quite so many tyres!!!!!!!

And I’ve started on the digging and weeding – removing all the bindweed and carefully digging the roots up ready to put on the bonfire once we get a spell of dry weather. I’ve also brought some Yucca plants from the Bully Bus garden to put near the fence as a deterrent for anyone attempting to climb over – Apparently this does happen from time to time so I’m resorting to the use of spiky/thorny/spiny plants as a natural barrier. Once I get round to painting the fence with some wood preservative I’ll be planting a mixture of Hawthorn and Pyracanthra there too – As they grow they’ll provide somewhere for the birds to nest,ย flowers and scent in Spring, berries in the Autumn and hopefully put off would be plot plunderers all the year round!

In a few years time this fence will hopefully be clad in a spiky, thorny mass of Hawthorn and Pyracanthra (Firethorn).

In a few years time this fence will hopefully be clad in a spiky, thorny mass of Hawthorn and Pyracanthra (Firethorn).

Whilst the sun was making a brief appearance I had a little wander round the site to look at other people’s plots for inspiration and was immediately struck with shed envy. There are some marvellous constructions dotted around, cobbled together from old doors, window frames, bits of bus shelter etc along with your regular, run of the mill, factory produced offerings. Must admit I’ve already developed a bit of a soft spot for the quirkier side of the shed scene and am deeply envious of the myriad shelters surrounding me.

Sadly, I am currently shedless – If the heavens open and the rain pours down I’m set for a soaking………… But not for too long as a shed has definitely been pledged to me which I’ll be getting some time during the next few weeks….. and I can’t wait!!!! My very own spot in which to make a pot of tea, shelter from a deluge or just sit and listen to the birds singing and the bees buzzing – How lovely!

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder - The gorgeous shed that's been pledged to me ;)

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder – The gorgeous shed that’s been pledged to me ๐Ÿ˜‰

Admittedly it looks like I may have my work cut out for me but I relish the challenge of turning this kindly donated structure into a cozy little retreat from the elements – And it provides a perfect opportunity for some crafting projects over the winter months in order to make the interior nice and welcoming as I’ll be needing the odd string of bunting, maybe a cushion or two and most definitely a crocheted blanket to wrap myself up in!

Maybe I should also make something nice as a means of saying thank you to my generous neighbour over the fence, a lovely man called Paul who’s also given me a spare water butt and offered to help sort out the foundations for the shed when it’s ready to be moved into its final resting place. Not forgetting the equally lovely neighbours on the other side of the opposite fence who’ve donated a compost bin and assorted plants to get me started on my way!

On reflection, maybe I’ve had a better first week than I originally thought………. things can only get better from now on and I’ll be planting in no time – Fingers crossed ๐Ÿ˜‰

Fence cleared of bindweed and water butt and compost bin ready to be incorporated into the master plan!

Fence cleared of bindweed and water butt and compost bin ready to be incorporated into the master plan!

Let’s just hope the weather stays fair and the sun shines on us all in the forthcoming weeks. We can but hope………….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

