In like a lion……..out like a lamb.

Posted: March 16, 2013 in The Garage
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever heard that saying? It actually refers to the weather in March – Big, bold, huge and roaring at the beginning of the month and meek and mild towards the end. Spring is nearly here!

Not that you would have thought it when Mr Other Half and I went shopping in Leeds city centre a few weeks back………….. and ended up having a rather splendid adventure that neither of us had expected. Here’s what happened………..

The Observation Wheel - Leeds

The Observation Wheel – Leeds

The plan was to visit Leeds Kirkgate Market so that I could replenish vital supplies of fabric, thread and sewing machine oil whilst Mr Other Half diverted his attentions to devouring a platter of fresh oysters. All bases were set to be covered as we’re lucky enough to have the biggest indoor market in Europe right on the doorstep; Our mission was clear and simple…….. Or so we thought.

And everything would have been perfectly straightforward, had it not been for the erection of a huge Ferris wheel right outside the main market hall doors just a few days before our visit………

On first spotting this Mr OH’s eyes lit up. ………… ‘Let’s have a go.’ says he,

”I think not!’ said me………….

It's rather tall!

It’s rather tall!

Less than a minute later I was dragged nearly kicking and screaming to take my place in the queue of people waiting patiently to ride on the aforesaid beast whilst Mr OH reassured me that there was nothing to be worried about – despite my great reluctance and even greater fear of heights …… To add insult to injury, it started to snow. I was not exactly happy!

Our carriage awaited....

Our carriage awaited….

Very soon the wheel slowed to a halt as people got off and the next folks got on – this included us. I was absolutely terrified!

Shakily, I made my way into the carriage and then sunk my nails deep in to Mr Other Half’s bulging biceps in sheer panic at the thought of our ascent before starting to squeal rather loudly to register my displeasure with the situation!!!!

We started to move…..

The beginning of the ascent.....

The beginning of the ascent…..

I sat shaking……. whimpering……… shivering…….. 😦

Mr OH clicked the commentary button to try and distract me – I did my best  to listen to a rather amusing, potted history of the fair city of Leeds whilst all the while practising deep breathing techniques in an aid to keep calm……… although I have to admit I may have sworn a few times when my breaths obviously weren’t quite deep enough 😉

Getting higher!

Getting higher!

Flipping 'eck!!!!!!

Flipping ‘eck!!!!!!

Mr OH pointed out the emergency escape ladders as further means of reassurance…….

If it all goes wrong they expect me to climb out on to those ladders to make my escape to safety.....

If it all goes wrong they expect me to climb out on to those ladders to make my escape to safety…..

I was still not happy!!!!!!! We went up, and up, and up……..

Right at the very top - The man in the carriage next to us was having a whale of a time.

Right at the very top – The man in the carriage next to us was having a whale of a time.

For a few moments we seemed to come to a complete halt….. the snow flurried, the wind howled, the carriage rocked alarmingly! A panic button was spotted on the control panel…….

Making the descent........

Making the descent……..

I know what you’re thinking at this point; You are very much mistaken!!!!!!!!

There was something very reassuring about knowing we were no longer in the highest position and were heading down towards terra firma.

There was something very reassuring about knowing we were no longer in the highest position and were heading down towards terra firma.

It wasn’t me who hit the button; Mr OH had had enough!!!!!

Mr OH makes a hasty departure - He got in like a lion and left like a rather speedy lamb; Haven't seen him move this quick in ages!

Mr OH makes a hasty departure – He got in like a lion and left like a rather speedy lamb; Haven’t seen him move this quick in ages!

Like the girl in ‘Jurassic Park’ I sat in stunned silence; ‘He left me!!!!!’

Then it was up again for a second time, ALL BY MYSELF, whilst watching the not so brave one complete his escape.

Off he goes!

Off he goes!

He stops in a moment to look up and wave ;)

He stops in a moment to look up and wave 😉

The weirdest thing about all of this was the fact that I wasn’t a bit bothered; I’d actually settled in and was enjoying the ride. I even managed to swap over to the other side of the carriage to get a more panoramic view of things, laughing loudly at my cowardly counterpart who was now sat watching and waving whilst indulging in a steadying cigarette to calm his frazzled nerves.

Had the weather been a little better the views over the city  would have been magnificent.

Had the weather been a little better the views over the city would have been magnificent.

Leeds Kirkgate Market - Largest in Europe. This is the colour coded outside market with the roof of the lower market hall  in the bottom tight of the picture.

Leeds Kirkgate Market – Largest in Europe. This is the colour coded outside market with the roof of the lower market hall in the right of the picture.

Nearly back on solid ground after the third revolution of the wheel......

Nearly back on solid ground after the third revolution of the wheel……

Finally, the ride came to an end….. Dare I say that I had enjoyed it? Yep, I really did! I want to go on it again when the sun is shining!!!! Don’t think Mr OH can be persuaded to join me though………..

Oh well!

Did I get everything I went shopping for? Absolutely! And Did Mr OH get his oysters………?

Fresh Oysters at Hayes, Leeds Kirkgate Market.

Fresh Oysters at Hayes, Leeds Kirkgate Market.

The Observation Wheel at Leeds – What an adventure!

100_9793

Leave a Reply

