A belated ‘Happy New Year’!!!!!! So what does 2013 have in store I wonder………..?

Posted: January 8, 2013 in The Garage
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s 2013!!!!!! Hope that you had a fabulous Christmas and managed to stay fit and healthy; Thankfully everyone at Bully Bus HQ did 😉

I’m glad to report that my little chat to Santa just before the big day really did pay dividends as the good natured elf managed to squeeze a brand new sewing machine down the chimney – a whizzy one that does way more stitches than my trusty old Brother machine ever could and is much easier to use when creating free motion embroidery….. theoretically…… 🙂

In truth I’m a bit of a neat freak and everything has to be just so; It’s hard to allow wonky lines and frayed edges to exist in my work but I’m trying really hard! And I do like the whimsical, slightly naive look it creates……

My first bit of free motion embroidery using my new machine.

My first bit of free motion embroidery using my new machine.

So! A little zippered coin purse was the first project to be completed whilst also cooking the Christmas dinner for six (How’s that for multitasking?); Occasional breaks in the proceedings to check on things in the kitchen, a few sneaky trips to the tea trolley turned into a mobile drinks bar (aka the Jolly Trolley) and highly delighted squeals from me and a round of applause from the crew upon completion.

And Mr Other Half now wants a ‘manly’ version to keep his pennies safe 🙂

My little zippered purse holds all my treasures - I love it!!!!!!

My little zippered purse holds all my treasures – I love it!!!!!!

I’m thinking that 2013 may shape up to be the year when the sewing machine rules!!!!!! We shall see………………….. 😉

Comments
  1. evelynnross says:

    Very cute! My new years resolution is to learn to use my sewing machine…after someone fixes it for me, since I’m pretty sure I broke it within 25 seconds of using it. 🙂
    Also, “Exterminate!”

    • Excellent!!!!! Pinterest is a great source of inspiration as well as being full of hints and advice for how to get the best out of your sewing machine – plus it has lots of tips on general maintenance and troubleshooting without the need for a sonic screwdriver 😉

      • evelynnross says:

        I never thought about trying pinterest for sewing machine maintenance! Great tip! I decided that the bottom part was broken (since I couldn’t get it to work) and I took everything apart and had no clue how to put it back together again. I’ve been waiting on my mother in-law to come fix it for me. 🙂 I may try to tackle it on my own now!

      • Good Luck! 😉

Leave a Reply

